The driving laws in Georgia are stricter, and penalties tougher on a minor facing a DUI charge. These penalties are stricter due to the inexperience and shorter driving record most minors have versus people over the age of 21. If you are under 21, and arrested for driving under the influence in Georgia, it is important to understand the legal consequences you may face.
A GA DUI conviction for a person under the legal drinking age can result in permanent damage to your driving record. A DUI conviction could also affect your future by causing problems when applying for a job or attempting to obtain credit.
Here are some important things to know when facing a Georgia DUI conviction, under 21 years of age:
- Blood alcohol level of 0.02 grams is standard for DUI in an offender who is under 21.
- You could face imprisonment not less than 10 days nor more than 12 months;
- Judge may suspend all but 24 hours of imprisonment;
- Probation, 12 months less any time served in jail;
- Fine not less than $300 nor more than $1,000;
- No less than 40 hours community service;
- You may be required to attend and complete Drug and Alcohol Risk Reduction School; (DUI school);
- Your driver’s license may be revoked , however after 6 months following the effective date of the revocation and subject to the examination requirements for obtaining a drivers license, the individual my apply for their drivers license. If the blood alcohol level was 0.08 or more the revocation is for 12 months. A second or subsequent DUI the revocation is for 12 months. To have your license re-instated, you must have completed the Drug and Alcohol Risk Reduction School, and pay a fine.
The legal drinking age in Georgia is 21, and consumption of alcohol by anyone under 21 is illegal with the following exceptions:
- on private, non-alcohol selling premises, with consent of a legal guardian — for example, with legal guardian’s permission at a party
- for religious purposes – for example, drinking wine with religious ceremony, or
- for medical purposes – for example, a physician administering a medical treatment.
In the State of Georgia, the penalties are harsher for those convicted of a DUI under the age of 21, because underage drinkers cause a disproportionate number of alcohol-related auto fatalities.
Whether you have been arrested for DUI, minor in possession, or another alcohol related violation, you can trust that Scott Brannen and The Brannen Law Office, P.C. have what it takes to successfully defend you against the maximum penalties of a conviction. Scott has an unmatched level of skill and legal knowledge when it comes to drunk driving under the age of 21, and will work diligently to defend against a DUI conviction. Click here to contact Scott Brannen today to schedule a confidential consultation.
More information about Georgia’s teen driving requirements